Reference: Knowledge Management Elements

Blog Wisdom

Knowledge Management Specialties

By Stan Garfield (Twitter: @stangarfield) – Revised September 1, 2010

The field of knowledge management includes a wide variety of components and disciplines.  Here is a list of 25 specialties practiced by those in the field, followed by Tara Pangakis list of 50 KM components across people, processes, and technologies.

  1. Sharing, culture, organizational design, and change management
  2. Innovation, invention, creativity, and idea generation
  3. Reuse, proven practices, and lessons learned
  4. Collaboration and communities
  5. Learning, development, and training
  6. Goals, measurements, incentives, and rewards
  7. Social networks, organizational networks, value networks, and network analysis
  8. Expertise location and personal profiles
  9. Communications
  10. User support and Knowledge-Centered Support (KCS)
  11. Content management and document management
  12. Search, taxonomy, ontology, and tagging
  13. Analytics, visualization, metrics, and reporting
  14. Project management, process management, workflow, and planning
  15. KM methods (peer assists, after action reviews, knowledge audits, etc. – see KM Method Cards)
  16. Appreciative inquiry and positive deviance
  17. Storytelling, narrative, anecdotes, and sensemaking
  18. Information architecture
  19. Usability, user interface, and user experience
  20. Portals, intranets, and websites
  21. Databases, repositories, business intelligence, and data warehouses
  22. Competitive intelligence, customer intelligence, market intelligence, and research
  23. Web 2.0 and social media tools
  24. Semantic web, artificial intelligence, and natural language processing
  25. Wisdom of crowds, crowdsourcing, collective intelligence, and prediction markets

50 Knowledge Management Components [below the line]

Continue reading “Reference: Knowledge Management Elements”