Search: Ghandi (sic) Gandhi Seven Social Sins


Gandhi not Ghandi.  We made the same mistake in the early years.  What a wonderful search, thank you for presenting it.

Seven Deadly Sins

  • Wealth without Work
  • Pleasure without Conscience
  • Science without Humanity
  • Knowledge without Character
  • Politics without Principle
  • Commerce without Morality
  • Worship without Sacrifice

    Also known as Seven Social Sins

    • Rights Without Responsibility    8th sin by Arun Gandhi.

    NOT Gandhi

    Seven deadly sins

    And the less known Seven heavenly virtues

    Also NOT Gandhi

    The Seven Contrary Virtues:
    humility, kindness, abstinence, chastity, patience, liberality, diligence

    The Contrary Virtues were derived from the Psychomachia (“Battle for the Soul”), an epic poem written by Prudentius (c. 410). Practicing these virtues is alledged to protect one against temptation toward the Seven Deadly Sins: humility against pride, kindness against envy, abstinence against gluttony, chastity against lust, patience against anger, liberality against greed, and diligence against sloth.

    The Seven Heavenly Virtues:
    faith, hope, charity, fortitude, justice, temperance, prudence

    The Heavenly Virtues combine the four Cardinal Virtues: prudence, temperance, fortitude — or courage, and justice, with a variation of the theological virtues: faith, hope, and charity. I'm still researching the origins and popular usage of this formulation.

    The Seven Corporal Works of Mercy

    Continuing the numerological mysticism of Seven, the Christian Church assembled a list of seven good works that was included in medieval catechisms. They are: feed the hungry, give drink to the thirsty, give shelter to strangers, clothe the naked, visit the sick, minister to prisoners, and bury the dead.

    The Seven Corporal Works of Mercy are:

    1. Feed the hungry
    2. Give drink to the thirsty
    3. Welcome the stranger
    4. Clothe the naked
    5. Visit the sick
    6. Visit the prisoner
    7. Bury the dead.

    The Spiritual Works of Mercy were:

    1. To teach the ignorant
    2. To counsel the needy
    3. To chastise the sinful
    4. To comfort the sorrowful
    5. To forgive enemies
    6. To suffer tribulation
    7. To pray for all fervently

    Financial Liberty at Risk-728x90